eunomad.blogg.se

Mac mini server review
Mac mini server review




mac mini server review
  1. #MAC MINI SERVER REVIEW MAC OS#
  2. #MAC MINI SERVER REVIEW INSTALL#

I was so impressed with the performance hit this one update gave that I’ve never gone back to upgrade the RAM.

#MAC MINI SERVER REVIEW MAC OS#

I’ve got to say that this made such an improvement to performance! It only has 4GB of RAM, yet it boots either Mac OS (Sierra) or Windows 10 in 20-30 seconds. The Mac is a 2012 Mac mini which I’ve swapped out the regular 500Gb harddrive with a 240GB Kingston SSD (and moved the original 500GB drive to drive bay 2). Note this one is used connect the dock to the computer or la.

mac mini server review

The monitor configurations it supports is either on of the following: The main difference is that it supports 5K. It’s only $30 more expensive, and if you can spare the extra change it’s a higher spec. Note this one is used connect the dock to the computer or laptopĪs I mentioned above the D6000 is the latest universal dock from Dell.3 x Full HD displays (this how I run my setup).1 x 4K display with 2 x Full HD displays.The Dell D3100 dock supports either of the following monitor configurations: At the time of writing this it’s $104.89 and the D3100 is no longer available. UPDATE: I purchased the D3100 roughly 2 years ago and in that time Dell has released a newer version of the dock called the Dell D6000, click here to check it out on Amazon. At the time of writing this article it was $103.89 on Amazon plus shipping, click here to get the latest price. The Dell Hub is an amazing bit of hardware for its price. Both operating systems recognised the Dell Dock and took care of the drivers for me when it was initially plugged in.

#MAC MINI SERVER REVIEW INSTALL#

There’s been no problem with either operating system recognising the monitors and ports on the dock, and I’ve never had to manually install the drivers. I run Mac OS (Sierra) and Windows 10 via Bootcamp on the Mac mini and both work great with the dock. As it turns out, it is compatible with both the Mac mini and the Microsoft Surface Pro 4, all it needs is a USB 3 port and away it goes. I took a chance with the D3100, as at the time the official Dell documentation for the hub listed Dell hardware only as compatible. Dell D3100 USB Hub Compatibility: Windows 10 and Mac OS? The 3, 24inch Full HD displays work great with both the 2012 Mac mini and my work laptop (Microsoft Surface Pro 4). As a programmer who works from home a lot I wanted 3 x 24inch monitors and I wanted a system that was easy to change from my work laptop back to the home Mac mini.Ĭan a Mac mini support 3 monitors without using Thunderbolt? Yes it can, and the answer is the Dell D3100 USB Hub. When I was setting up my study I only had a small space, so being clever about how its configured was key to making it functional.






Mac mini server review